Russell Simmons, Julie Taymor, Dr. Thomas F. Schutte

Pratt Institute president Thomas F. Schutte and board of trustees chair Bruce J. Gitlin invited guests to celebrate the college’s 125-year legacy of creativity and innovation at a golden gala at the Waldorf (designed by Pratt alumnus Lloyd Morgan). The event raised a whopping $1 mil while commemorating Pratt’s rich history and impressive roster of alumni and faculty. It also honored the Pratt family, along with Maximilian Josef Riedel, Julie Taymor, and Kehinde Wiley. Proceeds went toward student scholarships.

Notable guests included event chairs Young Ho Kim, James and Marjorie Kuhn, Sondra and David S. Mack, Bruce M. and Judith Newman, and David and Jane Walentas, along with Russell Simmons, Marc Rosen and Arlene Dahl, Juliana Terian, Christiane Seidel, Fern Mallis, Hamish Bowles, and Hal Rubenstein. Attendees, who were encouraged to wear the school colors of gold and black, enjoyed the unveiling of selections from 125 Icons: A Celebration of Works by Pratt Alumni and Faculty, 1887–2012.

Juliana Terian and Bruce Gitlin Casey Daurio, Karen Stone  

Hamish Bowles, Juan Montoya

Dr. Thomas F. Schutte, Arlene Dahl and Marc Rosen

Kurt Gutenbrunner, Maximilian Josef Riedel Mark Tallman, Christiane Seidel

Hal Rubenstein, Fern Mallis Jane and David Walentas

Marjorie and James Kuhn Mike Pratt, Bruce Gitlin
Photos by

back next